PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Partitions and booting

Lord Stig
June 5th, 2010, 10:41 PM
I have several linux distros and Windows XP on one hard drive, each in their own partitions. Having filled the drive up I would like to be able to remove a few partitions to keep only one Ubuntu and one XP OS on the drive.

I am not an expert, and reluctant to mess around with GRUB2 config files etc. (I wouldn't know how). I thought I would try booting from live CD, removing a partition and then resizing XP (on sda1) to use some/all of that space.
This didn't work. I wasn't allowed to increase the size of the XP (or any) partition and had 15GB now without a partition. It also messed up GRUB2 since the partitions were renamed for some reason (Lucid was on sda7 but moved to sda5, etc.). So I created that partition again and installed another copy of Lucid there. This is now the default boot option despite me installing StartUp Manager from Ubuntu Software Centre and specifying the right one.

What I would like is to have the option (how??) of resizing sda1 (XP) and sda5 (the copy of Lucid I want to keep) and losing all my other partitions and distros. How can I do this? I don't seem to be able to increase the space allocated to each partition, even when I delete a partition and free up enough space. And it only seems to mess up GRUB anyway.
I really don't want to have to start again from scratch installing XP and all its updates, etc. and setting up anti-virus, then installing a fresh copy of Lucid.
(I know for Lucid I should have set up a separate home partition, and if anyone can help me with the above problem I will probably do so!)

Many thanks in advance.

darkod
June 5th, 2010, 11:35 PM
In this case to make things easier to understand, can you open the disk in Gparted, make a screenshot and attach it here?

Also, put a few lines explaining which partitions you want gone, and which kept if you know them from looking at Gparted.