PDA

View Full Version : Emailing TorquePowered (formerly GarageGames) to make case for Torque3D Linux client

MCVenom
June 5th, 2010, 06:25 PM
Hey y'all. Some of you might be familiar with the Torque family of game engines; if not the basic gist is that the Torque Game Engine is a popular game engine among independent & commercial developers available for Windows, Mac, and formerly Linux through a community supported effort. I'm planning to send them a email through their contact page here ('http://www.torquepowered.com/company/contact') and maybe post a blog post on their community blog. Right now, the email looks like this:

Dear TorquePowered:

Hello. My name is John King, and I am currently a high school student with game development aspirations. A few years ago, I used Windows as my main operating system and was teaching myself about 3D game development using several books on your Torque Game Engine 1.4 & 1.5 products. I found it to be an ideal environment for independent game development; and all of the books I had read touted Torque's cross-platform nature. Then, a year ago I left Windows and have not desired to look back since; I've been using Ubuntu, a Linux based operating system as my main OS as of August of 2009.

Unfortunately, TorquePowered does not have Linux builds for it's newest generation of Torque, Torque 3D. My only option now is to use the older Torque Game Engine iterations, which I believe to have been phased out by your company; or buy a license to the source code, port it and over compile it myself, which I lack the technical knowledge (to be honest I haven't learned C or C++ yet) to do.