PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Gnome-screensaver is crap

tnmarktx
June 4th, 2010, 01:08 PM
I,m not a linux expert by no means, but I have been using various distros for 5+ years. I have been using it as my primary desktop for almost 5 years and have been happy with it. But, gnome screensaver is horrible. I didn't really notice it until I have to disable the screensaver for watching some online streaming video. Once disabled, the screensaver will not work properly when enabled unless you reboot. The problem is, that upon re-enabling the screensaver it tries to work but then dies and goes back to the desktop. I've have done some research on this and bug reports have been submitted, but the problem still exists. Anyone else have this problem?

llawwehttam
June 4th, 2010, 01:11 PM
agreed it is a bit annoying, I remove it and use xscreensaver, but it works for most.

tnmarktx
June 4th, 2010, 01:16 PM
I have removed it as well, but you would think this would get fixed sometime. I mean, this is stable linux, not buggy microsoft windows.

llawwehttam
June 4th, 2010, 01:23 PM
lol., You want stable use debian. I use ubuntu as I like it and there is a lot of work done on it. Its not always stable.

tnmarktx
June 4th, 2010, 01:31 PM
I've never used straight up debian. I'm currently using Linux Mint LXDE, runs quick on my aging laptop and comes default with xscreensaver.

stinkeye
June 4th, 2010, 02:34 PM
Use the Inhibit Applet for temporary disabling of the screensaver.

Boondoklife
June 4th, 2010, 02:42 PM
Or just move on from screensavers. Im not sure why people actually use this still, just turn off the monitor or turn down the monitor sleep number a bit.

tnmarktx
June 4th, 2010, 03:44 PM