PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] I need some serious help

ibe2fly4chu
June 4th, 2010, 03:39 AM
Alright here is the deal. I was using Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic. Loving it to the extreme. When i first installed it on my system, everything worked out of the box. However i updated to ubuntu 10.4 (running currently), and now my wireless card does not work. I am using a SMC2862w-g, part #:99-012084-449. I have looked high and low for the drivers to install and cannot find any that work...or any that i know how to install for that matter. I am a noob, so i do have trouble installing .tar.gz files. I was wondering if anyone might know a solution.....Also...if no one knows where to actually get drivers for this adapter on linux, if it were possible to somehow take the wireless drivers used in Karmic off the live cd and somehow copy them over to this new distribution....
thanks in advance!

Daddyo-613
June 4th, 2010, 03:43 AM
I'm not sure exactly what you're looking for but if you go to Applications>Ubuntu Software Center>type wireless in the search box a number of programs are listed that might help you.

SoFl W
June 4th, 2010, 03:46 AM
Here is a link (http://www.smc.com/index.cfm?event=downloads.doSearchCriteria&localeCode=EN_USA&productCategory=5&modelNumber=585&partNumber=0&downloadType=1&knowsPartNumber=false) to the drivers/firmware page of SMC.

ibe2fly4chu
June 4th, 2010, 05:40 AM
thanks for the reply. As for what i am looking for is simply a way to make this wireless card work. The drivers from the smc website does not support linux...or if it does then i am unaware of how to install it. As i said they wireless adapter worked perfectly with ubuntu karmic, however with 10.4 the computer cannot even detect that the wireless card is plugged in.

darkod
June 4th, 2010, 11:13 AM
The drivers from the smc website does not support linux...