PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Grub2 menu howmany edit

lifespurpose
June 3rd, 2010, 09:09 PM
I have Koala with Grub 2, working fine. Just did some updates and now the boot menu is getting long, too many kernels. Want to reduce to the last two kernels plus Win XP, so got online and looked for instructions in English. News flash: Nobody seems to care about this issue, there is absolutely nothing to be found on it for Grub 2. There is a SIMPLE command for Grub, "howmany", in menulst. Menulst is not used in Grub 2, so that's out. OK I give up, after searching for over an hour for Grub 2's equivalent. Maybe someone here knows how it's done? IN ENGLISH please, not "sudo !@#$%^&*()_+" !!! I am an intelligent BEGINNER.
The Grub 2 page says: "GRUB 2 allows users to create customized menu selections which will be automatically added to the main menu when sudo update-grub is executed." Note the word ADDED. What about REMOVING? Does anyone want to bother themselves with addressing this issue?
I read somewhere StartUpManager can do this. Application Finder doesn't show StartUpManager on my machine, and reading about it at https://help.ubuntu.com/community/StartUpManager has me worried, as it seems to be Grub-1 related. I don't get the impression it will do what I want for Grub 2. If it does, they should say so, right??
I could remove the older kernels, but would rather just edit the boot menu. I found this for removing kernels:
Open synaptic, do a search for "linux-image" and then remove the older kernels from your computer. Removing them via synaptic will remove them from the boot menu as well. Keep the kernel you are currently using plus one older one you know works. To find your current kernel: uname -r