PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 (64 bit) needs 64 Gig Partition?

neu5eeCh
June 3rd, 2010, 08:52 PM
And how does 64 Bit Linux only need *really* need 4 to 8 gigs? I'm not looking to trash Microsoft. I'm genuinely curious... Why does Windows 7 need so much more space? I can't see that it does anything Linux doesn't?

cap10Ibraim
June 3rd, 2010, 08:57 PM
~ 20 GB mine , 64 Gig partition !!?

Wiebelhaus
June 3rd, 2010, 08:59 PM
Sorry but I've never heard this and I do this stuff for a living , can you please provide reference?

nrs
June 3rd, 2010, 09:00 PM
And how does 64 Bit Linux only need *really* need 4 to 8 gigs? I'm not looking to trash Microsoft. I'm genuinely curious... Why does Windows 7 need so much more space? I can't see that it does anything Linux doesn't?
Doesn't it only require a 20GB partition? I've installed on a 32GB drive before, and I've gone lower.

That's still quite a lot compared to my usual 6GB /. Totally pulling something out of my *** but I'm guessing compatibility libraries + windows update eat up a hefty % of used space. I'm actually completely ignorant of windows, but doesn't it also keep backup copies of the OS?

Edit: just checked default install on my forgotten desktop. 9.62GB used.

pwnst*r
June 3rd, 2010, 09:00 PM
News to me. Mine's around 15GB with a bunch of programs/games.

FuturePilot
June 3rd, 2010, 09:03 PM
I installed it on a 70GB partition with plenty of room to spare. It only took about 10-15GB of space. Not sure where you heard it needs 64GB.

lostinxlation
June 3rd, 2010, 09:03 PM
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-7/get/system-requirements.aspx

kamaboko
June 3rd, 2010, 09:07 PM
Errrr...maybe you were thinking each bit took a gigabyte? :-)

PsychoDevon
June 3rd, 2010, 09:09 PM
It says this:

16 GB available hard disk space (32-bit) or 20 GB (64-bit)

Were you confused by it saying this? It only requires 20 GB for 64-bit (which is still a little hefty in my opinion, but then again, Windows is Windows...)