PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu gui source

TerraEnvy
June 3rd, 2010, 10:22 AM
Hello I am new to using Linux based platforms however I know the programming, My problem is that I want to get a hold of the source package for the ubuntu Gui so I can customize it to my own personal liking, however I do not know where to find it.
Any help is appreciated.

-Terra

diesch
June 3rd, 2010, 10:50 AM
You can get the source code for a package some_package using

apt-get source some_package

The GUI contains many programs distributed over mayn packages so you need be a bit more specific on what exactly you want to change.

nvteighen
June 3rd, 2010, 01:04 PM
Hello I am new to using Linux based platforms however I know the programming, My problem is that I want to get a hold of the source package for the ubuntu Gui so I can customize it to my own personal liking, however I do not know where to find it.
Any help is appreciated.

-Terra

There's no "Ubuntu GUI".

GUI in GNU/Linux is created by using a component called the X Window System (aka "X.org" or simply, "X"), which is not part of GNU/Linux (moreover, it works on other platforms as well), although all most popular distros ship it by default. Everything works on the X Window System, but to help developers and also to get a uniform look-and-feel in programs, GUI toolkit libraries were created: Qt and GTK+ are the most popular.

Then, some people created suites of useful graphical programs, usually choosing a GUI toolkit because they liked the features and look it has, called Desktop Environments: GNOME and KDE are the most popular, using GTK+ and Qt, respectively, for all their officially distributed programs. There are several others available too (Xfce, GNUStep, e.g.).

Then, GNU/Linux distros choose what Desktop Environment to ship. Ubuntu uses GNOME, Kubuntu uses KDE and Xubuntu, Xfce. Debian usually ships with GNOME but makes KDE available at their repos. OpenSUSE uses KDE as default, but you can use GNOME if you wish...