PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 10.04 x86 - Monitor trouble

DaveUK87
June 2nd, 2010, 05:56 PM
Hello all, I need some help with my monitor set up, I have used 10.04 on my laptop since it was beta an love it, no problems whatsoever, but I decided to try it on my desktop as I'm sick of windows!
My linux knowledge isn't too bad, I've been using Ubuntu for a few months now daily.

The problem is I have a stupid monitor (well 47" lcd tv) and it doesn't seem to detect the resolutions/refresh rates correctly (no EDID) the tv is a Vistron 47" from Ebuyer in the UK, it was pretty cheap though hence the problems!

I have tried just about everything I can find on forums etc. I have the latest Nvidia drivers installed (195) and as far as I can tell there are no errors with the driver install, but with my monitors refresh rate (I think)

As the TV is really cheap and no longer available on the Ebuyer site I can not find any information on the tv's refresh rates etc. Googling the exact model number comes up with 1 relevant result and the information is not there.

I'm at my wits end now, and almost ready to put win7 back on (which works fine with the TV) does anyone have any ideas as to how I resolve this issue?

I can get to the desktop by adding boot options 'nomodeset' and 'xforcevesa' but thats just using the failsafe VESA settings.

If I boot normally I get the purple Ubuntu screen for a few seconds, the nvidia logo flashes up (streched out and the top corner of the nvidia icon fills the screen) then my tv goes blue (no input or out of range) I can still Ctrl Alt F2 to get terminal but I cant figure out what to do now, as I said earlier I think its pretty much just a problem with my Xorg.conf as my tv's settings haven't been set correctly (Windows 7 works fine at 1920x1080 as long as I go to advanced and set it to 59Hz)

My GPU is:
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640MB

Xorg,conf:

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig