PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 8.04LTS install - connect to www?

borderfox
June 2nd, 2010, 01:51 PM
Hello. I am a complete newb - and have just installed ubuntu 8.04lts. I am having difficulty in connecting to my router and the internet. My network card (realtek) seems to have been recognised by the system - but I cannot ping the router. I went to system=>admin=>network and selected wired connection. I then selected dhcp and restarted the machine - but no joy. Where do I go from here? I have a bt voyager adsl modem/router.

Any suggestions would be very welcome.

linux-hack
June 2nd, 2010, 02:28 PM
first of all your sure your router is working ?

what is giving the ifconfig command ?

try doing a
sudo dhclient

dustinmarlowe56
June 2nd, 2010, 03:25 PM
I saw something similar to this on the forums about a week ago, have you tried turning off your router, waiting about a minute and then turning it back on so that it is allowed to reset and recalibrate itself to a new computer?

borderfox
June 2nd, 2010, 05:25 PM
@boogy9 & dustinmarlowe56: I didn't spend much time on it as I've had to turn in for work - but will try your suggestions once I get back to base. Thanks guys. Will report back the outcome.

irv
June 2nd, 2010, 05:45 PM
One quick question, Why are you installing a older version of Ubuntu? is it because you are installing it on a older machine? I just installed 10.04 on a older pc I bought at a yard-sale and it works great.

kansasnoob
June 2nd, 2010, 06:11 PM
One quick question, Why are you installing a older version of Ubuntu? is it because you are installing it on a older machine? I just installed 10.04 on a older pc I bought at a yard-sale and it works great.

I wondered the same thing?

With few exceptions hardware support improves from version to version.

Now, before anyone jumps all over me, I did say "with few exceptions"!