PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New to Linux

DriftingSilently86
June 2nd, 2010, 05:04 AM
Hey Guys,
I'm new to Linux so I don't know that much about it. I recently installed Ubuntu 10.04 LTS on my HP Pavilion dv4. It has an AMD x86 Architecture and did have Win7 on it. But I'm getting fed up with Windows. I am currently in the National Guard and am deployed in Iraq. I have to deal with computers all day, everyday. I just hate Windows now. But anyways, I switched to Ubuntu and I found that I needed to install alot of plugins to get the machine working how I want it. I need to install the Windows Media Audio & Encoder plugins to play music. Also I need the dvd encoder and mp3 codec. The problem is I can't find them. Ive looked everywhere and all of them only go up to Ubuntu 6 or 7 version. Where can I find a list of Ubuntu 10 codecs that will work with my amdx86 computer? Thanks in advance.

xc3RnbFO8P
June 2nd, 2010, 07:21 AM
Hey Guys,
I'm new to Linux so I don't know that much about it. I recently installed Ubuntu 10.04 LTS on my HP Pavilion dv4. It has an AMD x86 Architecture and did have Win7 on it. But I'm getting fed up with Windows. I am currently in the National Guard and am deployed in Iraq. I have to deal with computers all day, everyday. I just hate Windows now. But anyways, I switched to Ubuntu and I found that I needed to install alot of plugins to get the machine working how I want it. I need to install the Windows Media Audio & Encoder plugins to play music. Also I need the dvd encoder and mp3 codec. The problem is I can't find them. Ive looked everywhere and all of them only go up to Ubuntu 6 or 7 version. Where can I find a list of Ubuntu 10 codecs that will work with my amdx86 computer? Thanks in advance.

(Lucid 32 bit)
In Terminal one by one: