PDA

View Full Version : 10.04 on external hard drive

Clement_User
June 2nd, 2010, 03:52 AM
I have a pretty annoying problem going on with 10.04 right now that I know wasn't present in 9.04; it's probably related to the change from Grub to Grub2.

Background
I am trying to install Ubuntu on my external hard drive because of I need the portability. With 9.04, I just installed it, made sure my bootloader was on the external (via the advanced menu right before the final step before install), and voila! It was great. However, I later needed to reformat the drive and now I'd like to install 10.04 (since it's newer and cooler :P).

The problem
The problem right now is not particularly with Ubuntu, it's with the bootloader. I have Ubuntu installed (I obviously haven't been able to test it). However, I can't boot into Ubuntu because Grub says "No such partition" and gives me a rescue prompt. I'm fairly new to Linux, and I'm completely clueless about bootloaders.

Info about the Setup
I have three partitions on this external hard drive. One is a NTFS primary partition, and another is a FAT32 primary. The Linux install was done by Ubuntu into a new extended partition, with the necessary logical ext4 and swap partitions.

What I've tried