PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Questions about Ubuntu and Laptops

jay bone
June 1st, 2010, 08:45 PM
Greetings everyone - this is my first post.

I have a few questions pertaining to Ubuntu, computers and software.

Question #1 - Computer:
I'm in the market for a new laptop. I'm a student and have used Windows my entire life. I'm familiar with OpenOffice, Gimp and a few other open source programs and I've been nothing but impressed. I have just recently discovered Ubuntu and Linux due to a friend who swears by them.

I've had my eye on the new Macbook Pro 15 - either the 2.53GHz or the 2.66GHz. However, after speaking with quite a few people - they say I can get an equally great or even better(in terms of guts and performance) machine for half of the cost.

This entices me as I'd rather get the most bang for my buck instead of paying for a name, plus, I've used Mac's at the University and I don't care for their operating system.

Can someone point me in the right direction in terms of what they might choose over a Macbook pro?

Question #2 - Operating System and Software:
The main reason I am interested in a Macbook is because I do a lot of music/recording stuff. It seems that finding software for a PC equivalent to a Mac is tough. One reason I like a Mac is because I can open the laptop, open a program, hit record and just sing/play into it - with decent quality. It's nice for getting ideas down. I've yet to be able to do this on a PC with similar quality.

I also use Adobe CS4 - mainly Photoshop and Dreamweaver as I do some personal graphic and web design. I know that installing these on Ubuntu is not possible.

So, is there software out there for Ubuntu that would be similar to what comes installed on a Mac for recording purposes?

I also heard one can run a dual - boot (is that the right terminology?), therefore if I needed to, I could always revert back to my windows OS when I needed to work with Ps or Dw.