PDA

View Full Version : bash scripting

Drenriza
June 1st, 2010, 08:49 AM
I'am bash newbie.

How can i get a bash script to look for an error, if it finds this error (that i have told it to look for) how do i get it to send me an e-mail to notify me on it.

Thanks on advance.

BoneKracker
June 1st, 2010, 08:55 AM
What kind of error? What is making the error?
Is it something that shows up in your logs?

Drenriza
June 1st, 2010, 10:12 AM
An error in logs. An error a program will output to debug logs or something like that.

For example in df if a HDD reaches 80% HDD disk space usage can you then get a bash script to write an notification email?

or if CPU loads keep staying on 80-100% then you also get an notification email.

Im very new at this, and arnt quite sure what is possible and what aren't.

And im sorry if im not as detailed as i could be. Hope you all can bare with me :p

mickwombat
June 1st, 2010, 10:23 AM
Hi there,

What you need is a cron job to do this for you. I made a little script for my server that does something similar. You just need to change it to suit your needs.

#!/bin/bash
if [ -n "`cat /var/log/auth.log | grep sausage`" ]; then # -n tests to see if the argument is non empty
sed 's/sausage/replace/g' < /var/log/auth.log > /var/log/auth.log.kat

# Send a test mail to myself
sendmail -v name@yourdomain.co.uk < mick.mail &

# Replace the original auth file with the changed one
cp /var/log/auth.log.kat /var/log/auth.log

# End of script

fi

What this does is it searches the auth.log if a user called sausage has logged in. If they have, then the sed command will parse the file and replaces 'sausage' with 'replace' and save it to a new file. It then sends a mail to myself using using the sendmail command and uses the mick.mail file as the input for the message. The file for the mail is simply

SUBJECT: <Subject>
Message body goes here.