PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Installing additional files from LiveCD

tyler9
May 31st, 2010, 11:08 PM
After successfully installing Ubuntu 10.04 from the LiveCD, I now need to install and run the files that allow using a dial-up external modem. These files are on the 10.04 LiveCD but aren't installed by default.

If I understand correctly, these files [Software Packages] are on the LiveCD in:

[DVD drive]:\pool\main\w\wvdial\ wvdial_1.60.3_i386.deb
...and
[DVD drive]:\pool\main\w\wvstreams\ [3 sw packages]

My question: how exactly do I get these required files from the LiveCD and run them from Ubuntu? Is it a matter of simply copying+pasting to the Ubuntu 10.04 desktop? Or do I need to install the files, and then run them? Is the Synaptic Package Manager required? I'd prefer a graphical tool, instead of a command-line terminal at this point. I do plan to familiarize myself with these features, but as a complete noob a graphical tool would be best.

Related question:
I'm unable to use a mouse+keyboard simultaneously on the new Ubuntu PC--the motherboard has only one PS/2 port, many USB ports, but we haven't yet bought USB mouse or keyboard.

As a workaround, I enabled the Ubuntu onboard keyboard, allowing mouse-clicks on the [virtual] keyboard keys. It seems to work fine.

But--when I tried to open the package manager, I got a password prompt. This creates a problem: when this password box is onscreen, the onboard keyboard isn't accessible--it's dimmed out, unusable--I can't click the onboard keybd keys to enter password. Is this a bug? If so, I'll be glad to report it--will read forum sticky "beginner's guide to filing bug reports."

Anyway, apologies for these very basic questions--I'm a complete Ubuntu noob, and Ubuntu seems fantastic; but with very spotty net access, I can't search for answers as much as I'd like. Normally I'd be able to search and I'm sure find the answer I need. Once I get dial-up working on Ubuntu 10.04, that'll solve the problem!