PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Can't see my hard drives

technmom
May 31st, 2010, 07:28 PM
Hello,
I'm brand new to ubuntu. When I clicked on Computer I was able to see my hard drives and mount them. Now I cannot. I have my system set up as a dual book with Window XP.
I was showing my husband and children how to get to their files and could not. I rebooted to show them how to get onto windows or ubuntu and how to use it. Of course, whenever you try to demonstrate something thats when it doesn't work.
I did install c++ using the instructions from the forum
I just tried to cut and paste them here but that doesn't seem to work either. I don't see how making that install would change things.
I'm frustrated obviously :(

saakeman
May 31st, 2010, 07:33 PM
Hello,
I'm brand new to ubuntu. When I clicked on Computer I was able to see my hard drives and mount them. Now I cannot. I have my system set up as a dual book with Window XP.
I was showing my husband and children how to get to their files and could not. I rebooted to show them how to get onto windows or ubuntu and how to use it. Of course, whenever you try to demonstrate something thats when it doesn't work.
I did install c++ using the instructions from the forum
I just tried to cut and paste them here but that doesn't seem to work either. I don't see how making that install would change things.
I'm frustrated obviously :(

I have the same problemo !

**join facebook's dustbin of history**
it is
**dustbin of history**

Matt__
May 31st, 2010, 07:36 PM
try
sudo apt-get install ntfs-config

allow write support when prompted and the drives should automount on boot

technmom
May 31st, 2010, 07:40 PM
try
sudo apt-get install ntfs-configallow write support when prompted and the drives should automount on boot

I tried it. I did not get an option to allow write support. nothing happened. I am going to try rebooting.....be back

technmom
May 31st, 2010, 07:56 PM
nothing worked. Please help

halitech
May 31st, 2010, 08:03 PM