PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't access 2nd hard drive after install

merlinus23
May 31st, 2010, 07:24 PM
After not listening to the age old advice of making a back up before proceeding I lost my Windows 7 OS after trying to install a duel boot of Win 7 and Ubuntu. My 2 identical hard drives were in a RAID (Stripe) configuration and I was trying to install Ubuntu to my second hard drive. After failing at this a couple of times I reconfigured my hard drives as IDE drives and was able to install Ubuntu 10.04 to the second drive. The installation went well and since I was a complete newbie at Linux I explored Ubuntu for a couple of days before trying to reinstall a fresh installation of Windows 7 with my HP recovery disks and a Windows 7 upgrade disk. After my Windows 7 reinstall on my first drive I am totally unable to access my second drive. I tried to use mbrfix on the drive from the command line but I just get an error message stating "drive not ready". :confused:

darkod
May 31st, 2010, 07:31 PM
Few points, for some of them it's too late:

1. You don't install ubuntu on RAID with the standard desktop cd (live cd). You use the Alternate Install CD (image).

2. Windows can't see linux and does not offer a way to boot it. It seems your grub2 bootloader was on the first disk, not on the ubuntu disk, and installing win7 now overwrote it.

You should be able to fix that by simply reinstalling grub2 to the ubuntu disk MBR. It takes only two commands run from ubuntu live mode (the cd booted in Try Ubuntu mode).

However, to make sure this is the case, boot into live mode and run the boot info script and post the results as explained here:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=8844901&postcount=4

merlinus23
May 31st, 2010, 08:11 PM
I know i really messed up but I appreciate your quick response. Here are the results.

Boot Info Script 0.55 dated February 15th, 2010

============================= Boot Info Summary: ==============================