PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Migration boot camp for those who want to understand, not only use?

Istrebitel
May 31st, 2010, 11:42 AM
Greetings.

I am a newbie to linux and kubuntu, although i have some past knowledge when i was attending to red hat courses of installing and administrating enterprise linux, but without constant practice i of course forgot most of it.

I would like to understand how linux works and be a "pro", because in Windows i would consider mysef such. Would not like to brag, but i can solve most of the problems or tasks related to windows desktop operations systems, and if i dont know the solution i know where to look or what can be the source of it. I understand very well how the windows operation system works from inside as i've read books and had years of practice, both hobby and job-related.

Of course, i could start from scratch, reading books about linux from the 0.01 and how it evolved to what i have now installed on my pc, but that would take enormous amount of time! I would prefer to "build bridges from the knowledge i have about windows" instead of bulding from scratch.

So, what i was looking for when migrating to linux, is a guide to linux from a windows experienced user POV. Unfortunately all i found was guides for, how shoud i say, casuals, which tell that "migration is simple nowadays when there are gui installers, auto update and stuff, just try it and have fun". They explain basics about linux and introduce a newcomer to some of its fundamentals but its all. Unfortunately, this was not what i was seeking for. They tend to "protect" the newcomers from the "disgusting" parts of linux - the "dreaded" command line. I even saw a person comment the article "Thank you but please dont use command line scripts in your tutorials - you will scare newbies away from Ubuntu"