PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] panel - docky - mess

jbocean
May 31st, 2010, 01:46 AM
Noob Here -

Today I installed 10.04(!) I installed my codecs, Ubuntu Tweak, Mint Menu (Thanks Sn3ipen from another thread) and everything was going great until I attempted to install Docky - Current Issues:

1. When I installed Docky, I got a message saying something like "Enable Compositing Effects for Docky to run properly".

2. Well, I had already deleted my bottom panel and when Docky didn't work out, (bc it left like a quarter of the bottom of my screen black-where Docky was running),
So I kept trying to "Add Panel" to get the bottom panel back, which had no apparent effect - Until I uninstalled Docky and now ...

(a) I have a bottom panel which doesn't work (nothing shows up there) and
(b) I have like 35 little boxes of "ghost panels" on the right side of my screen - I have been assuming them to be from when I attempted to restore my bottom panel.

3. If I "right click" in either the non-working bottom panel or the right-sided "ghost panels", I get the choices "Help" or "About Panels".

So How Can I ...

4. Clean up the right side of my screen from all of those little squares.
5. Get a working bottom panel again.
6. What does enable compositing effects mean if I get brave and ambitious again and want to install Elementary theme or docky (again).

* Never mind the hassles ... I am Thoroughly Impressed w/ 10.04!
It is so cool and So-Much-Faster than my old Win-XP !!!

Thanks for any help

SnickerSnack
May 31st, 2010, 01:53 AM
Have you tried restarting anything? First, try "killall gnome-panel" from a terminal. If that doesn't work, try logging out and starting a new session. If that doesn't help, try rebooting.

"Enable compositing" means you need a compositing window manager, which metacity (the default window manager in gnome) is not. You need to install compiz or use a different desktop environment. Xfce would work. I don't know if kde will.

jbocean