PDA

View Full Version : biggest php noob ever

kartabosh
May 30th, 2010, 10:08 AM
hello
i have no knowledge of php at all, i'm just messing around with multiple programming languages and while trying to do something on my website i downloaded different scripts and none of them were what i wanted so i decided i want to create my own so for the last 2 weeks i kept editing the current scripts i had to understand it better

however every time i modify it i have to upload it on my server and stuff like that, but i remember like 5 years ago the teacher showed us how we could like set up a folder in which when we put the files we could access the scripts in http://localhost or something like that
i remember vaguely something about mysql and stuff, can anyone help me?

simeon87
May 30th, 2010, 11:03 AM
You can install Apache with PHP and then you can indeed put PHP scripts in the website directory and it'll use those. Then you don't have to upload it each time. There are many guides on the internet on how to do this, also search for LAMP (Linux, Apache, MySQL, PHP) as this is a very common combination. You can ever install these things together (the latter three) and then you also have a MySQL database where you can store data. You'd use SQL to read/write the data.

kartabosh
May 30th, 2010, 11:11 AM
do you know like a deb package or something?

xsinsx
May 30th, 2010, 07:12 PM
youll just need to do this https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ApacheMySQLPHP

Can+~
May 30th, 2010, 08:28 PM
You'll need to edit the /etc/apache2/sites-available/default file, so you can have something like /home/username/www for easier editing.

And if you're in a notebook, I suggest having Apache2 turned off by default, and turn it on when you're going to use it, mostly for battery purposes. Use gnome-do to easily start the process again.

kartabosh
May 31st, 2010, 07:28 AM
thanks i got it working
how can i set title to solved?

Can+~
May 31st, 2010, 07:53 AM