PDA

View Full Version : An Ubuntu Convert

osmosys8
May 29th, 2010, 11:39 AM
I used to be a die hard Windows guy. For years I loved playing all my favorite games, and I was totally into all the different applications I ran, and my very first computer I ever bought myself ran windows 98.

A little bit after that some of my friends started talking to me about this "Linux" thing. I had no idea what it was but it sounded neat so I gave it a try. I forget what distro I tried first, but it was probably Debian or Redhat. Now this was probably ten years ago, and Linux back then was very difficult for a novice to deal with.

I remember spending hours dealing with the command prompt (I rarely used it in windows), and learning all kinds of things that I never had to know before. What's a repository? Why do I have to install these module things? Why do I have to put a password in before I install something? Etc etc etc.

Eventually I gave up. At the time I was a Windows repair technician (laugh) and I figured Linux was just some overly difficult die hard operating system that only super dorks liked to used (at the time this was partially true).

Anyway the years passed, and Linux got a lot better. I mean a LOT better, and needing to branch my skill set out I went and filled in all the gaps in my knowledge of Linux and got my RHCT. It was right around the time that I finished this cert off that I really started to enjoy the operating system far far more than Windows.

I liked Redhat, but it seemed just like a server centric distro, so I opted for Fedora, but when I learned about Ubuntu I never looked back.