PDA

View Full Version : Flash drive installation problem

MyiEye
May 29th, 2010, 12:00 AM
So, I had been that it was possible to simply boot up with a live CD and then install Ubuntu onto a flash drive and have a true installation on your Flash drive as easy as pie.

So, I tried it and it seemed to look quite promising. However, when the flash drive is not in, I am given a Grub error 21 and can't boot into either Windows 7 or Ubuntu (9.04 in this case). I was hoping that Grub would be entirely on the flash drive, but I'm very new to all this, so maybe what I'm attempting is entirely impossible. Either way, strangely enough I didn't get the chance to try using the flash drive on any other computers to see if it actually would boot as I left for the weekend and figured that I should leave my flash drive because it was my friend's laptop.

So, is it possible to get a complete/true installation of Ubuntu on a flash drive or portable hard drive? Can I get Grub to stop getting in the way so Windows can just boot happily?

Thanks.

EDIT: So, after digging around a bit more I feel minorly more educated meaning that I now see what happened. The bootloader Grub was definitely installed to the internal hard drive rather than to my flash drive. So, to rephrase my questions I would ask: How do I get Grub off of the internal hard drive? Once that is done how can I get Grub onto my flash drive?

Thanks again

oldfred
May 29th, 2010, 12:56 AM
Welcome to the forums.

What boot loader do you want in your internal? Windows?

I would boot into your flash drive and install grub to the flash drive MBR first.
You will have to know if you flash drive is sdb or something else, then you can just run this and the last screen choose sdb.
sudo dpkg-reconfigure grub-pc

How to restore the Ubuntu/XP/Vista/7 bootloader (Updated for Ubuntu 9.10)
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1014708

From Ubuntu you can install a generic windows boot loader: