PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Proper way to back up 9.10 / install 10?

blueghoti
May 28th, 2010, 11:25 PM
Hi all -

I'm relatively new to linux, having installed Ubuntu 9.10 on my laptop (clean install) about a month ago. I have been concerned that the HDD (2 years old) has become unstable, so I have bought a new drive and - now that 10.x is out - will install 10 from scratch.

I have an external hard drive and want to back up my files and configuration (Evolution, Firefox, installed apps) to the external drive, install the new drive and 10.x, then copy all my settings over to the new environment. Any suggestions on how to do this?

Thanks!
Chris

jerrrys
May 29th, 2010, 03:34 PM
for installed apps

WinRiddance
May 29th, 2010, 03:59 PM
Hi all - I have an external hard drive and want to back up my files and configuration (Evolution, Firefox, installed apps) to the external drive, install the new drive and 10.x, then copy all my settings over to the new environment. Any suggestions on how to do this?

Well, plenty of different opinions and options out there but I still prefer to see what's going on and to be in charge of what's happening on my machine. The following will work even if you're previously installed apps. like Thunderbird, Firefox, and others as third party apps on earlier versions of Ubuntu.

1. Make a backup of your entire home/user folder to another drive/partition/USB stick.
2. Backup any personal files that you might have had elsewhere ... docs, pics, mp3, etc.
3. If you installed third party apps elsewhere, be sure to copy/backup those as well.
(all of this can be done very easily with the Nautilus file manager - enable hidden files)
4. For Ubuntu 9.10 and later (10.04) the new disk/partition should be formatted to ext4
5. Restart with a LiveCD and install Ubuntu fresh on the newly formatted ext4 partition.