PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] wireless?

sm4sh1t
May 27th, 2010, 09:12 PM
Hello, im new to ubuntu jaunty 9.04 and i installed it to my toshiba l450-02n and i updated the updates. one thing is the wireless does not work :( if you can help me thank you.

sm4sh1t
May 27th, 2010, 09:25 PM
when i go to updates there is no more to take, im not sure how to find what wireless card i even need to update. im on wired now and it is great :P thanks for reading and hope to get some help thanks.

just want to add the speed on my computer went from poor to lightning speed online, very nice.

SunnyRabbiera
May 27th, 2010, 09:27 PM
Actually you should try to install lucid, the most recent version if possible.

sm4sh1t
May 27th, 2010, 09:30 PM
Actually you should try to install lucid, the most recent version if possible.

thank you for the reply, can i install this lucid from synaptic manager? and is it just an install or would i need to set it up with commands some how? thanks.

ok i have installed lucid 6 now im unsure on what comes next.

sm4sh1t
May 27th, 2010, 09:44 PM
I rebooted and see a sun java 6 start under apps internet, started it i think but no wireless at all. btw do i need to rebbot after installs like i did on windows? thanks.

st0kes
May 27th, 2010, 09:53 PM
Sun Java 6 is nothing to do with wireless.

You should have an icon for Network Manager in your notification area (top right, if you are using Gnome). Try left click and right click on there and see if you have any options to configure your network card, or even if it is detected.

If it is not detected, tell us about your wireless network card and your computer setup and we can help you confgure it.

sm4sh1t
May 27th, 2010, 09:59 PM
Sun Java 6 is nothing to do with wireless.