PDA

View Full Version : C++: getExeName(), any tips on cleanup?

James78
May 27th, 2010, 10:28 AM
Hi, I just wrote a pretty inelegant function, that returns the exe's name, and only it, no path whatsoever. I finally got it to work after a stupid buffer overflow error (I forgot to account for increasing the size of char when I used strncat).

Anyways, from me looking at this code, it's not exactly elegant lmao, do you guys have any tips on cleaning it up, perhaps making it more efficient and readable? I followed the C++ standard guidelines, but the guidelines are less prominent here because of what I was doing and where I was doing it. This took me quite about 8 hours to finally figure out how to do this, as /proc/self/exe, or /proc/<pid>/exe, argv[0] and other 'solutions' weren't exactly very good considering they either didn't work or returned the full path, and I only wanted the exe name. I'm new to C++ right now so... :)

// Kludgy.. Gets the exe's filename
string getExeName()
{
stringstream szBuffer;
szBuffer << getpid() << " c";
string szExePid = szBuffer.str();
char szPsCommand[30] = "ps -o command= -p ";
strncat(szPsCommand, szExePid.c_str(), sizeof(szExePid.c_str()));
FILE* fPsOutput = popen(szPsCommand, "r");
char szPsOut[50];
fgets(szPsOut, 50, fPsOutput);
string szPsOutput = string(szPsOut);
return szPsOutput;
}

dwhitney67
May 27th, 2010, 01:05 PM
Here's what I think is a better solution:

#include <unistd.h> // for readlink
#include <cstdlib> // for atoi
#include <cerrno> // for errno
#include <cstring> // for strerror

#include <sstream>
#include <iostream>

int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
const pid_t pid = static_cast<const pid_t>(atoi(argv[1]));

std::stringstream oss;
oss << "/proc/" << pid << "/exe";

char actual[1024] = {0};

ssize_t size = readlink(oss.str().c_str(), actual, sizeof(actual) - 1);

if (size != -1)
{
actual[size] = '\0';
std::cout << "Process with pid " << pid << " is located at: " << actual << std::endl;
}
else
{