PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I'm A Newbie Trying To Install Server 10.04

Orange Worker
May 26th, 2010, 02:24 AM
Hi,

I'm trying to install Ubuntu Server 10.04 (32 Bit), but my computer is not booting from the disc for some reason. I've burned a data CD and configured my bios to boot from CD.

I've also tried selecting all boot devices to CD, but then I get a screen that asks me to insert a disc (I don't have that exactly right, but it's something along the lines of that)

Thanks,
Henry

:guitar:

oldos2er
May 26th, 2010, 03:39 AM
You need to burn the *iso file as an image, not data. See http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/iso

Orange Worker
May 26th, 2010, 01:53 PM
Thank you, that worked.

Orange Worker
May 26th, 2010, 01:56 PM
I would rather use a GUI interface, does this mean that I have to install the destop version as well? If so, which version should I install first? I realize that I'm probably going to have to install this a bunch of times before I get it right. Thanks for all the help.

Henry

wkulecz
May 26th, 2010, 02:08 PM
IMHO the server install download should warn its not for "newbies".

Install the destop OS and then use synaptic package manager to install the server components you need nfs, postfix, apache, etc.

You'll have a good GUI environment to install from and work with. Having the Live CD option will come in handy if you need to fix boot (Grub2) issues.

You turn the desktop version into a server by installing the server packages you need. If its a heavy use server you may want to install the server kernel, but there is no benefit I'm aware of to installing both on the same machine.

Orange Worker
May 26th, 2010, 02:27 PM
Thank you for your reply. Is the "synaptic package manager " something that is included in the OS, or is it a seperate download?

I'm looking to run an application created with PHP.

Orange Worker
May 26th, 2010, 05:40 PM