PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Laptop will not recognise ubuntu live disk!

kit21
May 25th, 2010, 10:21 PM
Hello,

I'm new to ubuntu and have been trying to install it onto my laptop (its about 4 years old - a Sony Vaio VGN FS315E).

I have been given a live disk of the latest edition of ubuntu (10.4?) by someone at work, but my CD drive on my laptop seems to think the disk is blank. I know this is not the case as when the disk is inserted into a different laptop is it recognised as an ubuntu installation disk.

My aim to boot ubuntu from the disk to get a feel for what it's like before installing it fully on my laptop, and also to check that it would work on said laptop.

Any advice on what I can do to either get the disk to be recognised (I'm not that hot with computers, but I know a little) or to get around this problem would be MUCH appriciated.

Thanks for your time! :)
Kit

darkod
May 25th, 2010, 10:25 PM
Can you tell if cd-rom is before hdd in boot devices?

Depending how the screen looks like when you start your laptop, there should be text written which button is for Quick Boot menu, or similar, if it exists. Usually it is F12. So if you hit F12 it will let you choose what to boot from, you should select the cd/dvd.

Alternatively, pressing F2 or F10 (it differs for different laptops) should open the BIOS, and you need to look around in the boot options whether cd-rom is before hdd, to try to boot from the cd instead of booting the hdd straight.

kit21
May 26th, 2010, 12:05 AM