PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do you change window backgrounds?

X-Windows
May 25th, 2010, 07:09 PM
I know, absolute beginner stuff, but I can't figure this out...

I'm trying to install an emerald theme while maintaining the Compiz desktop effects. I'm running Ubuntu 10.04 Lynx and have installed Emerald Theme Manager and Compiz. I was looking for a good theme to go with my background/laptop and took a liking to this one, http://compiz-themes.org/content/show.php/Darkness+emerald+theme?content=124315&PHPSESSID=aad7e8c800081d0fa328d060c9fe64fb.

I'm sure this is a stupid question but how do I install this? By following the link to the rgba true theme, there are "instructions" on how to install it, but I just cant figure it out. I have the window borders setup but I'm stumped on how to get the transparent black window backgrounds(by window backgrounds I mean everything inside the frame). The frame works fine but it looks terrible with the solid white window interior. Can someone tell me how to get this working? I have already tried Compiz opacity (terrible, makes everything unreadable). Every background setting I see is RGB, no transparent setting. If it helps, I'm trying to get everything ~75% transparent, no solid colors.

Thanks in advance!

isaacj87
May 25th, 2010, 08:12 PM
I know, absolute beginner stuff, but I can't figure this out...

I'm trying to install an emerald theme while maintaining the Compiz desktop effects. I'm running Ubuntu 10.04 Lynx and have installed Emerald Theme Manager and Compiz. I was looking for a good theme to go with my background/laptop and took a liking to this one, http://compiz-themes.org/content/show.php/Darkness+emerald+theme?content=124315&PHPSESSID=aad7e8c800081d0fa328d060c9fe64fb.