PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Mobile web browsing blocked

bluebelly30
May 25th, 2010, 01:29 PM
Hello,

I am new to the Ubuntu and Linux world and have overcome most of my issues (apart from this one) using this and other forums (thanks everybody). The problem I have now is that I can not browse the internet using a mobile broadband connection.

I am using Ubuntu 10.4, have Firestarter installed and use the chromium browser.

From what I can tell the dongle is connected to the internet. The dongle is a 'ZTE Incorporated ZTE WCDMA Technologies MSM' USB device. The network connections manager seems to connect to it with out issue.

When the wireless connection is used at home everything works fine, its just the mobile broadband that is a issue.

My questions are:

1.How can I test that the dongle really is connected to the web and working fine?

2.If the dongle is working do I need to add a policy in to firestarter to let chromium browse the web? It is set to permissive by default, blacklist traffic.

3.What else needs to be looked at/ configured to fix this?

Thanks in advance

3rdalbum
May 25th, 2010, 01:43 PM
1.How can I test that the dongle really is connected to the web and working fine?

Try pinging an IP address that you know is available, such as:

ping 208.67.222.222

If pinging works, and web browsing doesn't work, then you have a DNS problem that you can solve by my instructions here: www.chrislees.info/ubuntu/opendns.shtml

2.If the dongle is working do I need to add a policy in to firestarter to let chromium browse the web? It is set to permissive by default, blacklist traffic.

I'd advise turning Firestarter off, and removing it. Ubuntu doesn't listen to any incoming ports by default, so you don't need a firewall for an individual computer.

If you do really want a personal firewall and you know why you want it (there are a couple of rare use cases), then make sure it's not blocking any outgoing connections, only incoming connections.

bluebelly30