PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 10.04: after installation, it won't boot

Thefarie_496
May 25th, 2010, 12:45 PM
Hello folks,

I opened a new thread because I couldn't find much about problems I have with Ubuntu installation (in reasonable time). I understand that if this is wrong, the administrators will move or remove this post to another place. Just do it if necessary.

From us common people who don't know much about computer system internals and who just wish to have the computer working and use it, here are now some complaints about the new version of Ubuntu Linux. I'm yet another guy trying to enter the world of Linux, and I wouldn't write here if it weren't due to troubles :( (I'm a mathematician and I need a computer to write math articles with lots of math formulae, and occasionally with a picture or two inside the text.)

So, the story is as follows. At home I have a PC with only one fixed disk which hosts MS Windows XP SP3 in one partition. Few years ago I tried to install Ubuntu Linux 7.10 in another partition and after formidable obstacles that you wouldn't believe could happen, I even succeeded somehow to make it function properly. I think there were boot problems that I solved by replacing the GRUB boot loader by LILO but I no longer remember how I did it. Took me awfully lot of time. Later, I rarely logged in to Ubuntu, just to see if it's still there and working. So I'm almost sure that the problems described below aren't due to hardware as both Windows and Ubuntu functioned normally so far.