PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Lucid screwed my Graphics up.

ThePinkWitch
May 25th, 2010, 05:57 AM
I recently installed Lucid after using Karmic since February and it hasn't gone well. My machine is running EXTREMELY slow and when I close a window it leaves parts of it on the screen. I can't use any effects or my machine is comatose. I had all the effects with Compiz and Emerald running with no problems before I upgraded. I posted on Installation and upgrades but haven't had any help with this so sorry for posting here as well. I'm a beginner so I don't know how to fix this stuff. oops I forgot, my graphics card is a Sapphire X1650 Pro, I have 2G RAM.

HELP?? ANYONE??

Peter09
May 25th, 2010, 08:31 AM
Sanity Check first:

Have you gone to system->admin->hardware drivers and checked for third party graphics drivers to load.

if no success

Try going to recovery mode and selecting the reconfigure graphics drivers option

if no success

post the output of the terminal command

lshw -C video

Mark Phelps
May 25th, 2010, 01:36 PM
my graphics card is a Sapphire X1650 Pro, I have 2G RAM.

There are no third-party drivers for this card that will work in recent Ubuntu versions. Sorry. This is one of the cards that ATI relegated to "legacy" status. The only drivers now are the open source drivers -- which are installed by default.

ThePinkWitch
May 28th, 2010, 09:19 AM
Sanity Check first:

Have you gone to system->admin->hardware drivers and checked for third party graphics drivers to load.

if no success

Try going to recovery mode and selecting the reconfigure graphics drivers option

if no success

post the output of the terminal command

lshw -C video

Thanks for the replies.This is the results of the code I typed in...

*-display:0
description: VGA compatible controller
product: RV535 [Radeon X1650 Series]
vendor: ATI Technologies Inc
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
version: 9e
width: 32 bits
clock: 66MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list rom