PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Stategies for dual boot installation on a blank system?

TJRC
May 25th, 2010, 04:23 AM
Every tutorial I've seen on installing a dual boot environment assumes you already have an installed OS (usually Windows).

My wife's XP system is pretty hosed, and she's been interested in Ubuntu. Because she's ripe for an XP re-install anyway, I'm planning on backing up her data, completely wiping her hard drive, and installing a dual-boot Windows-XP/Ubuntu environment. Any good step-by-steps for this, with good hints on how to partition, etc.?

If not, my plan B is to reformat and install a basic XP system, and then follow one of the tutorials for going dual-boot over an existing install. Does that make sense?

I should mention, I've used Linux for years as a user on my ISP, but have only been using Linux on a home system for a couple months; so I'm fairly new to the install and administer side.

pradeepthundiyil
May 25th, 2010, 04:32 AM
hi,

Put your xp cd through which you can Format and partiton your hard disk. Select appropriate sizes & number of partiton .. Ubuntu takes around 17 GB of space for installation, So leave 30 Gb or so for ubuntu. Fat file system would be better. If you want to install ubuntu within windows format all the partitions. If you are planning for a separate install of ubuntu, leave some space without partitioning (unallocated space). Then install XP, after that install Ubuntu by selecting " Install them side by side option".

julio_cortez
May 25th, 2010, 08:21 AM
I have a 1TB drive and I did it this way (using W7 and Kubuntu, but it's almost the same):

First of all, I made a "plan" of the partitions. I decided to reserve 300GB for the Windows install, plus assign 500GB to a "shared" data partition, and split the rest between /, /home and swap for Kubuntu.