PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu 10.04: No Desktop after install?

jacobstevens
May 24th, 2010, 11:03 PM
Hi, I saw other "no desktop" threads but they seemed to be a different issue.

I've successfully installed a fresh instance of Lucid Lynx, but when I boot it up, it looks like all I get is a terminal, no desktop environment at all.

I'm new to Ubuntu, but the Gnome package 10.04 looked beautiful and I'm happy to keep that, if I can just get it to load.

Might be relevant: I had install problems using the ISO (Errno 5) so I tried the alternate text-only intaller. This errored when attempting to install software, no reason given, so I skipped over it. Finally got a successful install, happy there, but as I said, I'm new, and I'd like to try Gnome before KDE or others -- one step at a time :)

Anyway, what command to install the desktop?

darkod
May 24th, 2010, 11:24 PM
From the top of my head, it was as simple as:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

but I might be wrong. :)

jacobstevens
May 24th, 2010, 11:41 PM
From the top of my head, it was as simple as:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

but I might be wrong. :)
Thanks -- I expected it would be simple!

That command appeared to unpack some things, then I was asked for my installer disc. So I did, and then:

"Failed to fetch cdrom:" for lots and lots of files, not being found.

"E: Unable to fetch some archives, maybe just run apt-get update or try with --fix-missing?" And I've tried both, and it quickly appears successful. What next?

darkod
May 24th, 2010, 11:47 PM
Thanks -- I expected it would be simple!

That command appeared to unpack some things, then I was asked for my installer disc. So I did, and then:

"Failed to fetch cdrom:" for lots and lots of files, not being found.

"E: Unable to fetch some archives, maybe just run apt-get update or try with --fix-missing?" And I've tried both, and it quickly appears successful. What next?

Hmmm... I don't know. :)