PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] log in screen flickers - can't log in

mlykke
May 24th, 2010, 02:31 PM
Hi all

I'm kind of new to Ubuntu but have been along since 8.04 - and recently updated to 10.04 - everything went smooth (except maybe my machine got a bit slower...).

So, one day I was playing around with the screen saver options and decided to set it to something like an ant crawling around with a flashlight. Still, everything works fine.

But then, after first time the screen saver activated, I wasn't able to re-log in - the log in box (or unlock box) was flickering and I couldn't type anything into it. So I had to reboot the system and now, when the log in box appears, it is still flickering and I still can't type anything into it.

I've searched high and low all over these forums and there are many posts describing similar problems but they all seem to have something to do with screen resolution. And this is not the case with me. The background image shows perfectly and is still - it is just the login box that flickers.

Maybe, if I could just do an automatic log in procedure? But it'll have to be done via the command line and I'm no genius there...

Another option is to go back to 9.10 with a new install but then I would need to back-up my documents which I'm not sure how to do via the command line.

Please, can anyone help?

mlykke
May 24th, 2010, 04:49 PM
After doing a failsafe recovery boot-up I entered startx in the command line and now its like a slow-motion action: now I'm actually able to see what looked like a flashing box during normal boot: pointer turns to "loading"-icon, then back to pointer and every now and then a grey box flashes in the background and there's lots af hd-activity.

Will let it continue a while to see what happens.

How can I access any error logs?

Senretsu
June 17th, 2010, 02:18 PM
I'm getting this too now.

I was trying to make the switch from Ubu to Xubuntu with