PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Remove GDM, Ubuntu 9.10 server ?



WitchCraft
May 23rd, 2010, 11:32 PM
Hi, I had to install gnome/gdm to install my HP printer on my (supposed to be console) console server.

The problem now is gdm/gnome startsup automatically.
I did update-rc.d -f gdm remove, but gnome still starts autocrapically. service gdm remove doesn't work either.

I removed gdm and ubuntu-desktop, but then, that f*ing HP printer stopped working.

What must I do to stop gnome/gdm on 9.10 server ?

-humanaut-
May 24th, 2010, 01:13 AM
Try sudo init3 then try removing GDM

WitchCraft
May 24th, 2010, 11:19 AM
That's part of the problem. init3 doesn't switch to console.
In fact, init xy doesn't do anything for any value of xy.

I have to issue pkill gdm to get to the console.

warfacegod
May 24th, 2010, 11:53 AM
sudo apt-get purge gdm Works in regular Ubuntu anyway.

WitchCraft
May 24th, 2010, 07:05 PM
sudo apt-get purge gdm Works in regular Ubuntu anyway.

Thath's the funny thing, it still started gnome when I did apt-get remove gdm.

I had to do: apt-get remove gnome* xorg* xserver* ubuntu-desktop
and afterwards apt-get autoremove

But somehow it still wants to boot into graphical mode, but now it can't.
It doesn't crash though, but I have to switch to another virtual terminal to start working.

warfacegod
May 24th, 2010, 07:24 PM
There's probably some .gnome and .gdm folders floating around getting rid of them might help.

ubuntu-desktop is just a meta package. It doesn't do anything but pull in the Gnome Environment, Desktop programs, and the dependencies. Removing it does nothing.

When I read your first post, I didn't realize that you had installed the entire Ubuntu Desktop environment. Getting rid of all that is a huge task. I don't even know where you should begin. The only thing I can recommend is using Synaptic (if you still have it) and completely removing anything that says gnome. That should get rid of most of the desktop but I'm making little more than an educated guess.

The only certain way I know of to get rid of Gnome, with out breaking your system, is to do a fresh install.

WitchCraft
May 25th, 2010, 07:46 AM
I think I pretty much got it.

It installed about 1200 MB for gnome, and I removed about 1100 mb.
QT might account for the rest.

It's probably just some settings in some config files that weren't removed.
Plus taking a look was good, I saw that dovecot and postfix were running, although I never installed them.

Must have come with the default server install.
So I removed them, too.