PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] My Ubuntu Lucid takes 1.5GB RAM doing nothing

AdyMareshal
May 23rd, 2010, 10:29 PM
I've installed Ubuntu 10.04 on my laptop (Intel core i3 2.5Ghz, 3GB RAM) and it's taking 1.5GB RAM doing nothing. This is what system monitor reports.

Is this a bug or something?

tada
May 23rd, 2010, 10:39 PM
I'm a newbie but I believe that the memory used here is effectively phantom - basically its trying its best to predict what you're going to do next so it has cached _everything_.

When you start to use it, it'll get a better understanding of what you're going to do this time and free up loads to do what you want it to.

dtfinch
May 23rd, 2010, 10:41 PM
What's using that memory?

fantomefreek
May 23rd, 2010, 10:42 PM
I've installed Ubuntu 10.04 on my laptop (Intel core i3 2.5Ghz, 3GB RAM) and it's taking 1.5GB RAM doing nothing. This is what system monitor reports.

Hi AdyMareshal !!!!
that may be a bug !!! I have Ubuntu 10.04 and normally my computer consumes between 300 and 400 MB RAM of 8 GB RAM !!!! Try to update your kernel or look for any process that is zombie or running and kill it if you don't use it !!!

Old_Grey_Wolf
May 23rd, 2010, 10:50 PM

I have been using my laptop with 10.04 for the past 7 hours. I have opened the terminal, OpenOffice.org, VirtualBox, and so forth. I only have Firefox open at the moment, and the System Monitor shows I am using 340 MiB.

Use the System Monitor to see if a process is using a lot a memory. In System Monitor you can sort the list of processes by memory usage.

bumanie
May 23rd, 2010, 11:11 PM
Type 'top' (without quotes) into terminal and then post a screenshot of the output - there is likely a process running that should not be. Depending on the process, you may be able to kill it or find some other solution.

nmaster
May 23rd, 2010, 11:13 PM
type
free -m into the terminal. that won't be wrong.

AdyMareshal
May 23rd, 2010, 11:34 PM