PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] moving grub2 mbr because of truecrypt, please help

dex87
May 23rd, 2010, 10:23 AM
After having encrypted my windows partition, truecrypt overwrote my mbr, and now I can't access grub during boot, not even when I press escape :(

I was thinking of restoring my original mbr with the truecrypt rescue cd, boot into ubuntu and copy the mbr to the ubuntu partition, but I'm really not sure how to do it. I'm still learning and any help would be greatly appreciated. When you do this, truecrypt supposedly loads grub when you press escape.

To give you an idea of how my drive is partitioned, pls see the attachment.

Thanks in advance!

roomey
February 4th, 2011, 12:51 PM
After having encrypted my windows partition, truecrypt overwrote my mbr, and now I can't access grub during boot, not even when I press escape :(

this worked for me (until a GRUB update overwrote the MBR without confirmation)

Leave the truecrypt boot loader on the MBR.

Boot using ubuntu live disk
Check which is the main ubuntu partition using: sudo fdisk -l /dev/sda(or gparted)
You need to install grub on a logical partition.
If the Main Ubuntu partition is extended and not logical, grub will not boot up properly, so you have to use a logical partition

install gparted to help you with this:sudo aptitude install gparted
Some dell laptops seem to have takend the first partition as a small utilities area: give it the boot flag (truecrypt likes grub having a boot flag.)

Mount the main linux partition: sudo mount /dev/sdaX /mnt
Install grub2 on the partition (either the main one or the one you just took)
: sudo grub-install --force --root-directory=/mnt /dev/sdaX (in my case it was sda1).
Restart your computer. In my case I can press escape when it asks for my passphrase, and then I get GRUB menu, or I can put in my passphrase, and then I still get the grub menu (which is strange) but when I pick windows it boots fine)