PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ATI driver installs

TheRacerX
May 23rd, 2010, 08:02 AM
Hello im new to Ubuntu...well Linux in general Ive always used windows but my friend suggested i try it out anyways im trying to install the most recent catalyst control center and driver for my ATI video card.

It's a .run file but my computer keeps giving me this weird coding error in gedit,
how to do fix it so i can install the driver so i can use all the graphical features of Ubuntu

my computer is a laptop an Acer Extensa 4420
AMD Athlon X2 Dual Core TK-57 at 1.9GHz
3GB DDR2 single channel RAM at 315MHz
and an ATI Radeon Xpress 1250 embedded video card

dino99
May 23rd, 2010, 09:51 AM
dont use the ".run" file from nvidia, ubuntu already have the fine tuned drivers available with "synaptic"

install xserver-xorg-video-radeon, then after reboot, check hardware driver (system admin) to see if the driver is well activated.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RadeonDriver

Mark Phelps
May 23rd, 2010, 03:35 PM
Hello im new to Ubuntu...well Linux in general Ive always used windows but my friend suggested i try it out anyways im trying to install the most recent catalyst control center and driver for my ATI video card.

Don't -- it won't work with current Ubuntu versions and your video card. Only the open source drivers will work -- and those are installed by default.

TheRacerX
May 23rd, 2010, 04:06 PM
except for the fact those drivers arent working either my video card is not compatible or something is wrong with it.

TheRacerX
May 23rd, 2010, 04:11 PM
also for some reason no matter what resolution or refresh frequency i wet my display too its still distorted in some way, either the screen wobbles up and down or it gets there weird fuzzy lines on the screen. Ive tried every resolution and frequency combination known to man. nothing fixes it

quadproc
May 23rd, 2010, 07:04 PM

It's a .run file but my computer keeps giving me this weird coding error in gedit,