PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 10.04 Grub 2 will not load Win7

MrVidal
May 22nd, 2010, 11:22 PM
Ok, I installed 10.4 alongside Windows 7. As a user of Ubuntu for a year, I never had a problem booting both OS until the update. Now I cannot boot Win 7 from grub.

Now... I tried asking around to fix it a few weeks ago after updating to 10.4, but I couldn't find a way (I'm still a bit of a noob). Win7 still will not boot. Just a blank black screen with underscore blinking forever to the upper left corner.

I tried some instructions to correct this error, but none of them worked. So I waited a few weeks hoping someone will come up with a clear solution to this problem as I have been told a lot of people are experiencing this.

I put down sudo update-grub and Windows 7 are there on sda1 as I put it.

Basically... What I do know that grub may have overwritten itself over Windows boot on the drive. The thing is, I do not have Win7 disk to correct that and get the grub somewhere else where it won't touch Win boot.

That may be the problem. I don't think going back to older grub (0.97) would be of any help and I'm afraid to even try it. It's all trial and error.

darkod
May 22nd, 2010, 11:27 PM
If you are sure win7 is on /dev/sda1, perform this fix on partition #1 on disk /dev/sda:
http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/bootinfoscript/index.php?title=Boot_Problems:Boot_Sector

If you selected all partitions during the upgrade when asked where to put grub2, it went on the win7 partition too.

It should be fine after the fix.

Or if in doubt, run the boot info script first.

MrVidal
May 23rd, 2010, 03:21 AM
Wow...

I tried it before and it never worked a few weeks ago. I guess I was using the wrong drive.

Fixed. So easy and simple.

Thanks! :D

dkintheuk
May 25th, 2010, 08:19 AM
I've got the exact same problem - however the link now doesn't work...

Anyone else around to help?

bcbc
May 25th, 2010, 08:59 AM
It looks like the link has been removed...