PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] backing up installed software for fresh reinstall

svesmeralda
May 21st, 2010, 06:11 PM
Hi,

I have been using Ubuntu for three years and haven't had a problem upgrading until Karmic Koala, it broke my system twice, not fataly, though.

I am currently using Jaunty and wish to upgrade to Lynx. My question is, "Can and how do I backup my current installed software so that I can install it on to Lynx withoug having to install each program again?" Would Clonezilla do this?

I am not a technical user but I have learned how to use the command line so I would be willing to go that route as well as a GUI application.

I am sure the answer is posted somewhere but after an hour I could not find it to my satisfaction.

Thanks in advance,

Jim

Fair winds and smooth seas to all.

Rasa1111
May 21st, 2010, 06:25 PM
You might want to check out "APTonCD"
APTonCD - (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/APTonCD)

It makes a "repository" of everything you have installed,
then you burn it to a disc, and once you have your new install...
just put the ATPonCD disc in that you just made...
and go from there..
its pretty straightforward.

Its the easiest thing Ive found.
all with a nice GUI also.

I havent used it in Lucid yet, but i did in Karmic and it went great.
Hope it helps.

svesmeralda
May 21st, 2010, 06:51 PM
Thanks, that was quick. I installed aptoncd with synaptic pm and burned an iso file. Do I need to do anything else? From the instructions I would think not but I do not wish to take anything for granted. I will read the wiki again to see if there is something else I need to do. It just seems too easy, even for Ubuntu.

Jim

Fair winds and smooth seas to all.

Rasa1111
May 21st, 2010, 06:58 PM
No problem.
I dont think you should have to do anything else.
I didnt.
Just make sure your iso image burned properly..
Put the disc back in and see what comes up..
if it's all there... you should be set. lol

heres to it going without any problems! cheers! lol