PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Compiz Settings Manager won't show

chubz
May 21st, 2010, 02:14 PM
Hello to all. I've run into some problems with compiz, and got a suggestion to start new thread instead of napping another like I already did. I'll paste my post from there and some new info I dug up thanks to realzippy:

Hi, I'm totally new to Ubuntu, I've installed it 3 days ago, and my friend sugested to use the after fresh install script that loads many standard and usefull aplications and settings found to be best for ubuntu.

Among other thing he said I should use compiz to see what appearance settings exists for ubuntu and to tweak it to my graphical satisfaction.

I've tried running the compiz settings manager, but have a similar situation to one above:
I click it in the System->Preferences->Compiz Settings Manager
It lingers in the lower panel for about 20 seconds, then disappears without starting the manager.
I've installed compiz fusion to se if it works at all and sure enough it does. I can choose between metacity and compiz and between Emerald an GTK WM.

Since I am a newb, and really not sure how to troubleshoot this problem any suggestions, or even ways to get any information you need is welcome.
This isn't a crucial problem, so I'm not expecting people to jump on it but such help would be appreciated, and also a learning experience.

random info says:
when I type in the terminal ~$compiz
(process:1935): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
Using the fallback 'C' locale.

(process:1937): Gtk-WARNING **: Locale not supported by C library.
I/O warning : failed to load external entity "/home/chubz/.compiz/session/106b7a168819b30304127436335428112600000013320001"

also my gfx card is: Nvidia GeForce 8800 GT 512 and have selected current driver (recommended) in hardware drivers.