PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Is newer better?

Mr_VeRiTy
May 20th, 2010, 05:54 PM
Hi, I'm new to linux, but from the stories i've read about the different releases of ubuntu i'm wondering If I should consider downgrading from lucid to one of the more stable releases, should I?

patchwork
May 20th, 2010, 05:58 PM
It all depends on the problems you're having. I'm not really convinced Lucid is more/less stable than any other release at the same point in its lifecycle. I run lucid on my laptop for about 8 - 12 hours per day, and have not experienced any stability issues. In fact, the only issue I've run into has been a screen resolution issue which I ran into in earlier releases of Ubuntu as well, and was easily fixed by adding an Xorg.conf.

Perhaps if you outline some of the problems you're experiencing someone can help you settle them.

Mr_VeRiTy
May 20th, 2010, 06:05 PM
Some problems are:
firefox and some other application quit unexpectedly, with no warning and no recovery of any work lost.

This isn't really a problem, but I heard that in the older versions (8.10?) you can change the gdm theme, I tried downgrading gdm in lucid but it wouldn't work.

In lucid the bootscreen is managed by plymouth and that sometimes freezes on boot, for about a minute.

these aren't big problems but are annoying nonetheless.

patchwork
May 20th, 2010, 06:16 PM
Well, we'll start with the easier things.

Post # 10 in this thread covers managing the bootsplash and gdm login screen appearence.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1446949&highlight=plymouth+custom
(http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1446949&highlight=plymouth+custom)
What kind of hardware are you running?

Have you already checked your logs to see what (if any) errors are thrown during boot?

It's also possible that the 'freeze' you're talking about is a scheduled fsck on your hard drive(s) (similar to a checkdisk on windows) If this is the case, you will see it appear in the logs.

Mr_VeRiTy