PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Upgrade problem - will not boot

markloudon
May 20th, 2010, 03:49 PM
Have had a torrid time with upgrading to 10.4 and now regret it.

The initial workaround from https://wiki.ubuntu.com/X/Bugs/Lucidi8xxFreezes works for me and I can get booted, but the attempt to permanently edit that into the kernel boot parameters dos not work, and restart just returns to the original problem. How can I edit the kernel boot parameters or what am I doing wrong?
I enter the commands as given. I assume the vertical line and line break mean I hit enter in the terminal then. Do I?

I am an absolute beginner, this thread is there as well.

oldfred
May 20th, 2010, 05:25 PM
If you can boot into your system with the one time edit of the menu, then you will want to edit the /etc/default/grub.

The Grub 2 Guide (formerly Grub 2 Basics)
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1195275

gksudo gedit /etc/default/grub
then run:
sudo update-grub
see section on editing /etc/default/grub:
# GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX
If it exists, this line imports any entries to the end of the 'linux' command line (Grub Legacy's "kernel" line) for both normal and recovery modes. This is similar to the "altoptions" line in menu.lst
# GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
This line imports any entries to the end of the 'linux' line (Grub Legacy's "kernel" line). The entries are appended to the end of the normal mode only. This is similar to the "defoptions" line in menu.lst. For a black screen with boot processes displayed in text, remove "quiet splash". To see the grub splash image plus a condensed text output, use "splash". This line is where other instructions, such as "acpi=off" are placed.

markloudon
May 20th, 2010, 09:20 PM
You would think this would do it, but after I add i915 modeset=1 to the line
GRUB_CMD_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"