PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 10.04 boot failure - Graphics Driver?

itsllamapowered
May 19th, 2010, 09:59 PM
I'm pretty new to linux and decided to try it. I installed ubuntu 10.04 using Wubi alongside windows. When I restarted after the installation ubuntu would not boot. I get lots of strange colours and lines on my screen and nothing else happens. I have tried using safe graphics mode but the problem still occurs. I believe the problem is something to do with the graphics driver. The graphics card is a Nvidia Geforce Go 7300 in a Dell Inspiron 6400.

Thanks

efflandt
May 20th, 2010, 01:26 AM
I have never done Wubi. But I have run 64-bit 10.04 LTS on a Dell Inspiron 6400 booted from a USB drive, and it sometimes ended up with a pattern of red (orange?) and white hash marks at the top of the screen and then seemed unresponsive. Other times it booted fine.

It is probably related to the new kernel mode setting (KMS) video driver. My 6400 has ATI Radeon Mobility X1300 video. My desktop with ATI X1300 had other issues with KMS (booted fine, but sluggish at some video tasks and suspend/hibernate would hang with blank video still on). Disabling KMS made my desktop run as fast as 9.10 and fixed its suspend/hibernate. That also seemed to fix the boot problem I had with the 6400.

Try nomodeset kernel boot parameter, which uses regular modules instead of kernel driver. Or radeon.modeset=0 is more ATI specific if you ever install it on an external drive that boots multiple computers, and only have problems with the ATI KMS.

http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/releasenotes/1004#Working%20around%20bugs%20in%20the%20new%20ke rnel%20video%20architecture

PS: I just reread that and noticed that you have nVidia. You might still try the nomodeset parameter which is general. But the nVideo specific way has something else for the * in *.modeset=0.

fuzzydough
May 20th, 2010, 04:42 AM