PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Really, when to upgrade?

hipogrito
May 19th, 2010, 04:01 PM
Hi,

I use Ubuntu and it's great. I had Windows Vista in the same computer but I wasn't using it at all as most of the things I need work very well in Ubuntu (well done!). By the way, I am also a Software engineer with some experience "releasing" software.

My experience with updating, in general, not only Ubuntu, but most of the software out there, is that upgrading is necessary but it's better to wait for the update.1 release which normally fixes the typical unexpected bugs of any release.

For example: From Ubuntu 9.4 to Ubuntu 9.10, I upgraded the first week of the release, and, ooops, my USB to serial port stopped working and I need that to work on the computer. After few weeks of posts in here and in other places, a new Kernel was released that fixed the problem.

Now, I want to update from 9.10, to 10.4, of course, but I'd like to wait for that stable release/fix from the original 10.4 release, as I learnt my lesson (for the nth time :) ).

The question is: Do we have a date for a relatively major fix release of the unexpected issues of 10.4? a new kernel release?

Thank you very much and keep doing such an excellent work!

Regards,
Fran

colintivy
May 19th, 2010, 04:21 PM
Hi!
What a pertinet comment. It seems to me that far too many folk want to grab every update when or even before it is out of beta. Reading most posts tells me that there is a lot of aggro that could be avoided if a little patience was used even after the first final version hits the streets.

I am not rushing to get 10.04 on the box right now!!

colintivy

CeeVee777
May 19th, 2010, 05:23 PM
I have several essential software applications that I always check on a test system before I do an upgrade to my main machines.
The list includes
XBMC
Handbrake
MeTV
OGMRip
MySql + tools
Nvidia drivers
ATI drivers
Wine
VirtualBox
DVDFab6