PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Acer Aspire One ZG5

Ddc2003
May 18th, 2010, 06:07 PM
Hello, I have been reading the forums for a few days and had a question. I want to install Ubuntu on my Acer Aspire One ZG5, but I'm confused. I have never used this Operating Systen before, but form what I hear about it I really want it. I need help figuring which version would be best. Also, I need to make sure everything, including the webcam and the wireless internet will work. Thanks in advance.

anglican
May 19th, 2010, 10:26 AM
Hello, I have been reading the forums for a few days and had a question. I want to install Ubuntu on my Acer Aspire One ZG5, but I'm confused. I have never used this Operating Systen before, but form what I hear about it I really want it. I need help figuring which version would be best. Also, I need to make sure everything, including the webcam and the wireless internet will work. Thanks in advance.
I'm using xubuntu 10.04 on my ZG5. Everything is working perfectly.

H

Zarea
July 26th, 2010, 07:24 AM
Anglican,

I am running Netbook Remix on my ZG5, headphone jack works, USB speakers work, if switched manually in the preferences. Small speakers on laptop bottom don't have sound. Did you have to do anything special to trigger them to work?

Thanks!
Z.

PaulReaver
July 26th, 2010, 07:31 AM
Anglican,

I am running Netbook Remix on my ZG5, headphone jack works, USB speakers work, if switched manually in the preferences. Small speakers on laptop bottom don't have sound. Did you have to do anything special to trigger them to work?

Thanks!
Z.
check your mixer settings.
my speakers were turned down in the mixer by default.

Zarea
July 26th, 2010, 07:33 AM
Thanks for the reply, It's good, and sound works great in all other fashions. It's the only booger this little machine has. Well, also it won't recognize the SD card without a restart, which is a shame. Otherwise, it's A+.
Z.

PaulReaver
July 26th, 2010, 07:44 AM
Zarea,
I'm all out of ideas.. sorry?