PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Ubuntu Noob: No Sound In KDE At All

curtisjwong
May 18th, 2010, 08:46 AM
I'm pretty new at this stuff. Anyway I'm running Ubuntu 10.04 and I just installed the kubuntu-desktop plasma program and ran it. Everything works perfectly except the sound. I tried the suggestion of going to "multimedia>audio output" and setting pulseaudio at the top of the list but I'm still not hearing anything. Oddly when I test "HDA Intel (AD198x Analog)" it will occasionally successfully play a test sound but when I set it to the top of the list yet again nothing happens. Any advice on what I can do?

Zorael
May 18th, 2010, 01:45 PM
Pop up the sound mixer (KMix, or alsamixer in a terminal) and make sure volume channels aren't muted or at 0%. You may have several that all affect output (like Master, PCM and Front), which would all need to be at greater than 0% for sound to output.

PulseAudio silences them and imposes its own single volume slider instead, and they remain muted even when pulse isn't running.

To play a continuous test sound, enter this in a terminal.

$ speaker-test -twav -c2
(Ctrl+C to break the loop.)

curtisjwong
May 18th, 2010, 06:17 PM
Thanks for the quick reply. I opened kmix and unmuted pcm and raised the sliders on everything to maximum. I can hear background fuzz but the sound still doesn't work at all.

Zorael
May 18th, 2010, 07:26 PM
Even from the speaker-test command?

Is PulseAudio running when you're attempting this? Ctrl+Esc to open up a list of processes, do a textual search for 'pulse'.

Do you get the same behavior even if you specify a device?

$ speaker-test -twav -c2 -Dhw
$ speaker-test -twav -c2 -Ddefault

curtisjwong
May 18th, 2010, 08:59 PM
Pulseaudio is running.

I got sound when I tried

speaker-test -twav -c2 -Dhw