PDA

View Full Version : Autocad

nsmith
March 22nd, 2006, 01:56 PM
I just started using Ubuntu, Yesterday. So far I like what I see. I am wondering if there are CAD programms that I can use for Ubuntu? I currently use AutoCAD 2006 on Windows 2000 professional.

I am a network administrator and am looking to substitute my windows network for Ubuntu/Linux. Any suggestions? What is the easiest and less painful way?

Thanks

chuckyp
March 22nd, 2006, 02:08 PM
Try using system>adiminstration>Synaptic Package Manager. From yoru gnome menu. From within there you can search for CAD it will show you a list of availible packages to install.

As for part 2 you can use samba to interact with windows networks.

Piggah
March 22nd, 2006, 03:19 PM
Well, there is QCad, but I don't know how well it measures up to AutoCAD.

There really aren't too many great CAD programs for Linux right now..

LKRaider
March 22nd, 2006, 03:24 PM
Look at this thread: My Ubuntu CAD station (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=141735)

Cycas CAD looks like the best choice for architectural work (my area). For engeneering, I don't really know.

gymsmoke
March 25th, 2006, 01:10 AM
LK~
That's a great looking package! (CYCAS)
Does the gnu version work well compared to a 'paid' version? I'd like to give this a trial run...
(I'm running 5.10 atm) ...

LKRaider
March 25th, 2006, 01:37 AM
I don't know much about the CYCAS package, other than it looks very promising, as I am forced to work on Autocad (yes, I dual-boot).

The public version seems to lack import filters for Autocad's dxf and 3ds, some exporting filters, restricts plotting size (size A4 max) and is for non-commerical use only.

LKRaider
March 25th, 2006, 05:43 PM
[delete this message - double post]

LKRaider
March 25th, 2006, 05:49 PM
Found another interesting CAD application:
http://www.graphiteone-cad.com

It seems mostly turned to mechanical engeneering, but looks like a fully featured CAD app.