PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No media in drive (USB pen drive)

Lancer074
May 15th, 2010, 11:00 PM
Hello. I am somewhat new to linux. I had a 8gig flash drive in the computer and it was mounted in Ubuntu fine. However, being the noob I am, I just jerked the drive out without thinking and now it will not mount again. It shows up as USB drive in "places", but will not mount. I tried to force the mount to /media/usb and it said "unknown device".

If I open gparted, it is not listed under devices at all. Just my hdd is there.

Also, I tried plugging it into a windows machine, it shows up as a removable media, but will not open. I have tried formatting it in windows with several tools to no avail.

Any help would be great, I would hate to find out that I so easily turned my flash drive into a paper weight.

Thanks in advance.

-humanaut-
May 15th, 2010, 11:24 PM
Plug it in instead of forcing it to mount you'll need to force it to unmount. What happen was when you pulled it out without unmounting it properly it locked the device. Format it with Gparted and restart your computer with the device plugged in. That should mount it then you can unmount and it should work fine.

trentscott
May 15th, 2010, 11:38 PM
Plug it in instead of forcing it to mount you'll need to force it to unmount. What happen was when you pulled it out without unmounting it properly it locked the device. Format it with Gparted and restart your computer with the device plugged in. That should mount it then you can unmount and it should work fine.

+1 I've run into issues when I format a drive with gParted and try to open it up in terminal. The solution is to do what you need in gParted and remove + reinsert the drive when it finishes. You could also reboot...

Lancer074
May 15th, 2010, 11:43 PM
Ok, I tried

umount /dev/sdb

it says device not mounted.

I also tried umount /dev/sdb1 and it says the same thing.