PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need some reasurance please!!!

bix15
May 15th, 2010, 06:51 PM
I am thinking about upgrading to 10.04 Lucid Lynx from my current setup, (9.10) and I'm kinda geekin' out here...
I'm pretty new to Linux. I recently bought a computer with Ubuntu 9.10 pre-installed back in November and am wondering if there are any big risks involved. My thinking is that if anything goes wrong I know I wouldn't have the first clue on how to fix it!!

So I'm wondering...
1. Is the upgrade worth it in the first place?

2. If so, how should I go about upgrading? (I was just thinking about using the update manager, it might suck idk...sue me)

3. I guess you could call me a super new user considering I've only been using Linux for about 4 or 5 months, so I don't know if I want the most complicated directions possible if you know what I mean. I am willing to do a little bit of work but I don't want to be doing clean install here!

P.S. If it helps at all, I'm using a System 76 Pangolin Performance.
Oh yeah and how long might the install take??

THANK YOU!!!! :)

cdavid13
May 15th, 2010, 07:00 PM
I just up graded to 10.04 LTS and hate it mainly because it reminds me more of an apple set up. The close window min window and max window are on the other side and I dont like the color sceme.

But Yes the update manger is the way to go it take no skill just simply putting in your password. But It does have four desk to work from instead of the two with 9.04 but its all personal preferance. But if you are worried about huge change its not at all.

So didn't really give asurance because i do not like the new set up of the 10.04 compared to the 9.04 but both so far have been sound and very easy upgrades through the update manager.

howefield
May 15th, 2010, 07:07 PM

I'd say very much worth it for a number of reasons, the only reason for not doing it would be your aforementioned lack of clue.

2. If so, how should I go about upgrading?