PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] installing ubuntu over old linux install

5dolla
May 15th, 2010, 02:09 AM
currently my partitions are as thus: / is linux mint /home is a separate partion
and I have a 12gb swap. How does one go about installing another linux over the old one with my setup. Do i just format / and leave /home or what sorry im a newb.

BoneKracker
May 15th, 2010, 02:38 AM
The installer gives the opportunity to create new partitions, or you could use the existing ones.

If you are really new to linux, then it's probably best just to tell the installer to erase whatever partitions are there and use the space to set up ubuntu the way it wants to.

If there's nothing else on the disk (no Windows you want to keep or anything), you can just tell it to use the whole disk and erase whatever's there.

It will ask you when you get to that part.

(Oh, and 12 GB swap is a big waste of space. Let the installer figure out how much swap you need. If you must decide for yourself, a good rule of thumb is twice as much as the amount of RAM you have, but not more than 2 GB or so. Unless your requirements are unusual, your system would rarely use more than a few hundred megabytes of swap, so that's plenty.)

I like to use the mantra "Default is Good" (i.e., more often than not, I find out months or years later that the default was the proper choice anyway).

5dolla
May 16th, 2010, 02:21 AM
ya i understand this but what im asking is if I format my root partition and install
Ubuntu over it can i keep my home partition intact to save my files and configs?

pete_m
May 16th, 2010, 02:53 AM
As far as i understand things that should be fine. . just don't let the install do anything to that partition( for instance DON'T tell the installer to mount your partition to /home ) -
I'm pretty sure that anyway you can only do that from within the advanced partitioning settings . .

make sure you've used fdisk -l to know what's what on your present system.